Time Cat

by Lloyd Alexander
206 pages, General Fiction
Reviewed by Lady Meriwen

Time-traveling fun for children and history-lovers alike!


All cats have nine lives. Everybody knows that. What everybody may not know is that the nine lives of a cat are not chronological, but in nine different historical eras, and that the cat can journey to whichever of his lives he wishes whenever the fancy takes him. When Jason discovers this truth about his own cat, Gareth, the adventures that follow are nothing short of incredible.


It is quite obvious throughout who are the good people and who are the bad; the unsympathetic people use and defraud others, while the ones we're meant to cheer for are selfless and lovable. Jason's adventures don't begin until he's sent to his room for bad behavior: one gets the impression, however, that he means to act on the lessons he has learned.

Spiritual Content

In Egypt cats are worshiped: we hear the people chanting a "Hymn to the Great Cat". Roman soldiers call Gareth's appearance a good omen. False magicians attempt to cast spells and summon spirits. In several times and regions cats are considered to be demons, particularly in Germany while a witch hunt is underway.


Several battles take place, but they are not graphically described. One man mentions "roasting" a woman for a witch.

Drug and Alcohol Content


Sexual Content

Jason notices a pretty girl; another girl is courted by a man but refuses to marry him. All of this is innocent.

Crude or Profane Language or Content



As a lover of obscure historical time periods, I found this book highly diverting. Alexander's style flows easily and gracefully, and he portrays his colorful cast of characters with humor and sympathy. It is the sort of book that should be read aloud to children.

Fun Score: 5
Values Score: 4.5
Written for Age: 11-12

Review Rating:

Did we miss something? Let us know!

Lady Meriwen This review is brought to you by Lady Meriwen.
Read more reviews by Lady Meriwen